

Shropshire Council
Legal and Democratic Services
Shirehall
Abbey Foregate
Shrewsbury
SY2 6ND

Peggy Mullock

Vivienne Parry

Tony Parsons

Malcolm Pate

Lezley Picton Ed Potter

John Price Keith Roberts

Alexander Phillips

Kevin Pardy

William Parr

Committee: Council Date: Wednesday, 19 February 2020

Date: Thursday, 27 February 2020

Time: 10.00 am

Venue: Council Chamber, Shirehall, Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury, SY2 6ND

You are requested to attend the above meeting.

The Agenda is attached

Claire Porter

Head of Legal and Democratic Services (Monitoring Officer)

Ann Hartley (Chairman) **Rob Gittins** Peter Nutting (Leader) Nat Green Vince Hunt (Speaker) Kate Halliday Steve Charmley (Deputy Simon Harris Leader) Nigel Hartin Peter Adams Nick Hignett Ruth Houghton Roy Aldcroft Richard Huffer Clare Aspinall Nicholas Bardsley Tracey Huffer Joyce Barrow Roger Hughes **Thomas Biggins** Ioan Jones Ed Bird Simon Jones Andy Boddington Mark Jones Gwendoline Burgess Heather Kidd Gwilym Butler Christian Lea Karen Calder Matt Lee Dean Carroll Elliott Lynch Lee Chapman Robert Macey Ted Clarke Jane MacKenzie

Madge Shineton Robert Tindall Dave Tremellen **Kevin Turley David Turner** David Vasmer Claire Wild **Brian Williams** Chris Mellings Leslie Winwood Michael Wood Paul Milner David Minnery Tina Woodward Dan Morris Paul Wynn Pamela Moseley Alan Mosley Cecilia Motley

Your Committee Officer is:

Gerald Dakin

Julian Dean

Pauline Dee

David Evans

Roger Evans

Hannah Fraser

Steve Davenport

Julie Fildes Committee Officer

Tel: 01743 257723

Email: <u>julie.fildes@shropshire.gov.uk</u>



AGENDA

1 Apologies for Absence

2 Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Members are reminded that they must not participate in the discussion or voting on any matter in which they have a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest and should leave the room prior to the commencement of the debate.

3 Minutes (Pages 1 - 14)

To approve as a correct record the minutes of the previous meeting held on 19th December 2019.

4 Announcements

To receive such communications as the Chairman, Speaker, Leader and Head of Paid Service may desire to lay before the Council.

5 Public Questions

To receive any questions from the public, notice of which has been given in accordance with Procedure Rule 14.

6 Members Allowances (Pages 15 - 26)

Report of the Director of Legal and Democratic Services is attached.

Contact Claire Porter, Tel 01743 252763

7 Financial Strategy 2020/21 - 2024/25 (Pages 27 - 198)

Report of the Director of Finance, Governance and assurance is attached.

Contact James Walton, Tel 01743 255011

8 Council Tax Resolution 2020/21 (Pages 199 - 220)

Report of the Director of Finance, Governance and Assurance is attached.

Contact James Walton. Tel 01743 255011

9 Fees and Charges 2020/21 (Pages 221 - 288)

Report of the Director of Finance, Governance and Assurance is attached.

Contact James Walton, Tel 01743 255011

10 Capital Strategy 2020/21 - 2024/25 (Pages 289 - 322)

Report of the Director of Finance, Governance and Assurance is attached.

Contact James Walton. Tel 01743 255011

11 Treasury Strategy 2020/21 (Pages 323 - 374)

Report of the Director of Finance, Governance and Assurance is attached.

Contact James Walton, Tel 01743 255011

Shropshire Community Governance Review (Pages 375 - 376)

Report of the Director of Legal and Democratic Services is attached.

Contact Claire Porter, Tel 01743 252763

13 Community Governance Review - Bridgnorth (Pages 377 - 378)

Report of the Director of Legal and Democratic Service is attached.

Contact Claire Porter, Tel 01743 252763

14 Portfolio Holder Annual Report for Assets, Economic Growth and Regeneration (Pages 379 - 392)

Report of the Portfolio Holder for Assets, Economic Growth and Regeneration is attached.

Portfolio Holder: Steve Charmley

15 Appointment to Committees

To confirm the following changes of membership:

Performance Management Committee

Cllr Michael Wood to replace Cllr Simon Harris as substitute member of the Performance Management Committee.

16 Motions

The following motions have been received in accordance with Procedure Rule 16:

1. The following motion has been received from Councillor Brian Williams and supported by Councillors Cecilia Motley, David Turner, Michael Wood and Roy Aldcroft:

This Council recalls that, for many years, its Arboriculture Section ran a free tree scheme which was very popular among Shropshire residents. Unwanted surplus whips from tree nurseries in the area were obtained and distributed to residents on a "first come, first served" basis. However last year the scheme did not run since, though the trees were available, it was decided there was a "shortage of staff resources".

This Council requests the Chief Executive to ensure that, as a service to residents and as evidence of its determination to assist in carbon reduction, the free tree scheme be re-instated and widely publicised in 2020

2. The following motion has been received from Councillor Roger Evans and supported by the Liberal Democrat Group:

Council notes that during the whole of 2019 Councillors have been raising issues about the growing number of potholes and the general failure of Shropshire Highways and its contractors Kier and WSP to deal with these issues.

When a department fails it used to be the norm that the political person answerable for that department resigns.

Despite many assurances, many from Cllr Davenport himself, the Council has felt the need to appoint a consultant to tell them what was going wrong

We ask the Council to support our call for the resignation of Councillor Steve Davenport from the post of Cabinet Member responsible for Highways.

Member Questions Report (Pages 393 - 396)

To receive any questions from Members, notice of which has been given in accordance with Procedure Rule 15.2.

Shropshire and Wrekin Fire and Rescue Authority Chair's Report (Pages 397 - 398)

To receive the report of the Shropshire and Wrekin Fire and Rescue Authority arising from its meeting held on 12 February 2020.

19 Exclusion of the Public and Press

To resolve that, in accordance with the provisions of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 and Paragraph 10.4 [3] of the Council's Access to Information Rules, the public and press be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following items.

20 Exempt Minutes of 19th December 2019 (Pages 399 - 404)

To approve as a correct record the exempt minutes of the Council meeting held on 19th December 2019.

21 The Tannery Development, Block A (Pages 405 - 462)

Exempt report of the Director of Place is attached.

Contact Mark Barrow, Tel 01743 258671

Oxon Link Road and Shrewsbury North West Relief Road - Project Combination (Pages 463 - 478)

Report of the Director of Place is attached.

Contact Mark Barrow, Tel 01743 258916

23 Oswestry Growth Corridor - Infrastructure Delivery Programme (Pages 479 - 576)

Report of the Director of Place is attached.

Contact Mark Barrow, Tel 01743 258671

24 Cornovii Developments Limited - Loan Facility (Pages 577 - 588)

Report of the Director of Place is attached.

Contact Mark Barrow, Tel 01743 258916

25 Senior Team Reorganisation

Report of the Chief Executive attached.

Contact Clive Wright, Tel 01743 258675